Driving while intoxicated is a danger to you and to everyone else on the road. If you choose to drive while under the influence or otherwise impaired in Kentucky, you could end up seriously injuring or even killing someone. If the possibility of a vehicular homicide case does not perturb you, then even so, the state has a rather severe set of penalties for DUI alone.
Whether you are driving on a prescription medicine or after having some drinks, you can be charged with a DUI or DWI if the officer who pulled you over believes you were intoxicated to the point at which your driving abilities were impaired. If you do get pulled over for a DUI or DWI, the charge carries with it some significant potential penalties.
Suspension of driving privileges
According to the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet, on your first DUI offense, your driver’s license will be taken away. Your driving privileges could be suspended for anywhere from 30 to 120 days.
Those who have multiple offenses will face longer periods of suspension. You could have your license suspended for up to 60 months if you have received your fourth DUI charge within a 10 year span.
Substance abuse treatment
Substance abuse treatment can come in the form of education programs, rehabilitation or mental health counseling. Your first offense will typically result in 90 days in one of these programs, while repeat offenders can expect to be in one of these programs for a whole year.
In addition to the above penalties, you can also potentially face probation or jail time for a DUI, in addition to fines and court fees. This can have a profound impact on your day-to-day life.
This article is purely informative and should not be taken as legal advice.