Some states have laws that require the spouse who files for divorce to be able to prove that his or her spouse has acted in a way that justifies the dissolution of the marriage Typically this is viewed as any form of marital misconduct, which can include adultery, drug addiction or domestic abuse, among other things.
As the Legal Aid Network of Kentucky points out, Kentucky is a “no fault” state, meaning that you can actually file for divorce without having to prove anything about the contact of your spouse. The only thing that you have to tell the court is that the marriage is “irretrievably broken.”
Other requirements for a divorce
Even though you have relative freedom in your reasoning for why to file for a divorce, there are still some other circumstances that are necessary before the divorce can take place. Regardless of when you filed for a divorce, you and your spouse must be separated for at least 60 days before the divorce can be finalized.
In addition, you must be a resident of the county in the court of which you file for divorce. In addition, either you or your spouse must have lived in Kentucky for at least 180 days before you can file in this state. Beyond these requirements, just make sure that you can afford the fee of $113 that is required to file for divorce.
This article is meant to inform you about divorce in Kentucky and is not a form of legal advice.